RIP Music Industry: Long live the musician!

I read Seth Godin’s blog post today and just had to smile :-)

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2009/02/music-vs-the-music-industry.html

He quotes:

“This is the greatest moment in the history of music if your dream is to distribute as much music as possible to as many people as possible, or if your goal is to make it as easy as possible to become heard as a musician. There’s never been a time like this before.”

I was at a company meeting last night and as it always happens someone else got interested in the band (DonkeyBox), and the general music scene. As always the typical question is along the lines of:

“Are you aiming to get signed?”

My answer to that is always:

“Why get signed? So I can sell my music in the biggest music stores in the world? But I can already do that on iTunes!”

The music industry is frankly in a huge mess, they’ve extracted too much money out of you and me in the past. Now things will be available in more quantity, with more choice and a better way of storing and organising.

The future is bright and both as a musician and a big consumer of music I love it!

5 Responses to “RIP Music Industry: Long live the musician!”


  1. 1 Wade Wellborn February 17, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I agree that it is a great time for music…always has been. Check out my words on the downfall of the music industry at http://www.thegreenfuzz.com.
    Wade

  2. 2 Atul Rana February 17, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Thanks for the feedback and the encouraging comments on this. I have a new follow up post coming from this too. I am found on twitter as http://twitter.com/atulrana

  3. 3 Patrick Smith March 7, 2009 at 3:13 am

    I agree it is a great time to be a musician. Developing the tribe is a slow process. What is available to me as a musician today was unheard of previously. One just has to spend time making contact with listeners and spending time making music.

    http://www.PatrickSmithMusic.com


  1. 1 Musicians: how do you define success? | music is my day job Trackback on February 16, 2009 at 11:13 pm
  2. 2 Spotify is about to shake up the music business « Atul’s Blog Trackback on February 17, 2009 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

