Why I don’t follow mainstream news

There I was sitting at the work kitchen explaining to yet another group of people why I don’t follow the news…

I am serious about this, I really don’t read newspapers, don’t go to news sites online and don’t even look at the news channels on TV. Why? Because “the news” can have a staggering negative programming effect on your mind. Most news is negative and almost completely irrelevant to you.

Observe this next time carefully. The news blends in with a natural sense of pessimism and gloom, which is why about 80% of the time the mainstream media news has negative articles. Do I care about Jade Goody, no? Do I care about Fritzl? nope. Do I care about knife crime rate going up by 0.001% in West Middlewich. Once again no.

I have better things to do with my time and I prefer to read more positive articles that are relevant to me, things that I choose to pay attention to. Not things that are thrust upon me.

So does this make me ignorant of the world news? Not really. I know what I am interested in and I know where to get an update on it. As for general world news, if a news item is truly relevant to everyone I will already know about it second hand via people talking about it. I use this second hand concept to filter out what I should be paying attention to and what I should not.

What I am talking about here is practiced by all positive thinkers inΒ the world who know that most mainstream news is negative and biased. Check out this link for instance:

http://www.lifeoptimizer.org/2009/02/13/stay-positive-turn-off-news/

Happy thinking πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Why I don’t follow mainstream news”


  1. 1 Jide Alakija March 25, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Okay Atul whilst you have made an interesting argument that many amongst religious circles would agree strongly with I have to say that it is somewhat biased to the other extreme.

    I agree that the news is filled with mainly bad news, in fact there is a saying that no news is good news. It also makes sense to therefore not watch it.

    On the other hand it also makes sense to know what is going on in the world and understand it’s implications in our own little world. Case in point the genocide in Darfur. Believe it or not there are a lot of volunteers who have come from the West to aid the starving in such places as a result of the conviction in the images and text the news has reported.

    My view is that it is important to understand that the news is in fact a view or a few very well spoken individuals. They have chosen to use the media as a way of getting themselves heard. They are only human like the rest of us and are subject have to both bad and good motives. This is something that I think we have to be very concious of when listening to the news.

    I for one always balance what I listen to or watch with good news. I search for it and talk about it. I think that should be something that the news channels should employ somehow. It will help the majority as a whole.

  2. 2 atulsworld March 27, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Hi Jide, thanks for the comment. I prefer being biased to the other extreme to be honest. Call it a protection mechanism against the subconscious programming the constant bombardment of negative rubbish we are forced to hear and read daily.

    Mainstream news is a business and as such the normal rules of marketing apply, i.e it’s about selling the story, in this case the news story. As such there is a spin and angle to every item of news you hear…not to hear the odd propaganda. Someone or some organisation benefits from the attention you bring to that news story.

    As for being objective, I let the second hand news from people do that for me. If I do hear enough people that I associate with talk about Darfur and the crisis there fits into my general worldview it will attract my attention. Once my attention is there I will research it more.

    Try it for two weeks, a*total* news blackout. You will see some radical results on positivity πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Ruxandra Dumitriu April 4, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Hi Atul,

    This is Jerry’s girlfriend, Ruxandra. Right on. I totally agree with you. The media receives undue attention. More importantly, it’s better to focus on good things which are stimulating and interesting. And I think it is logical to anticipate important news will reach you anyway. Great point of view and well articulated. I feel better since reading your thoughts on the matter!

  4. 4 Atul Rana August 3, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I do not take a single newspaper, nor read one a month, and I feel myself infinitely the happier for it. – Thomas Jefferson

  5. 5 jasmine August 22, 2009 at 2:01 am

    hi atul. i hate news πŸ™‚ seriously. especially when the highlights are all about elections and politics. It’s so frustrating. It also makes me angry.

    Thing is, people always ask me things like, “Do you believe what that politician/businessman/sports guy did??! He must have lied to his team and blablablablabla….. That’s a big mistake! He just lost billions of dollars! I mean he’s too much!” and then I will reply, “Yeah? I dont know who he is or what he said” which I will get the reply, “What?! Dont you read the news?!” Sorry, but if THAT is news, then I’d rather be ignorant.

  6. 6 Atul Rana August 23, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Thanks for the comment Jasmine. Glad that you are happier as well without being in touch with regular “news”!


Leave a Reply

