And so that was 2011

What a year 2011 has been, it hasn’t been a wild roller coaster but definitely had two distinct phases unlike 2010. At the earlier part I became a victim of my own tutoring success and had too many students to tutor away from London. As a result I spent most of the first part of the year out of London (most of my London friends thought I had moved out!).

The band definitely suffered as a result of my long absences and the fact that we didn’t have a bass player compounded to our inactivity. This at times was heartbreaking but I knew this had to be sorted as soon as I was done with the school tutoring year. I somehow still managed to keep a social life in London and kept doing most of my main things here.

I went nuts in the summer and enjoyed some rock festivals and travelling out. But there was a price to pay for no longer tutoring in Yorkshire, where I had a strong client base. By being out of the London tutoring loop it took me another few months to find local clients. I had used up all the money I made earlier in the year as I looked for London work. It really was a case of boom and bust all within a matter of a few months! But I am glad to say that I have found clients here now.

So as a summary here’s what I think are a bunch of cool things I accomplished or happened to me in 2011:

  • Faced some of my worst fears, things I had been putting back for 5 years..but this year I did it
  • I helped a student that was written off by his school to not get any GCSEs whatsoever to eventually get a grade C at AS Maths
  • After living in the UK for 19 years I got a British passport, it was a great feeling to be able to travel freely now
  • I forced myself to write new songs for the band, I got into a comfort zone over the last 2 years and it was time to break out from a rut
  • The meet-ups I started last year for my Rock Bands in London group got better and better this year
  • Despite a number of setbacks I got some band t-shirts printed, this had taken me 2 years to finally get done!
  • I saw more small and big gigs in one year than ever before
  • Collaborated with Ariel Hyatt of Cyber PR to arrange a meet-up after her talk in London
  • Performed at quite a few open mic nights on my own, especially earlier in the year and made lots of new friends that way
  • Went live on air on to a radio phone in about tutoring on LBC Radio London!

Looking back at all this, and as a result of organising so much travel during tutoring, for holiday, and organising my band diary I have become very very tight with scheduling and organising and I feel so much more in control of my schedule in general now.

Something tells me 2012 is going to be a landmark year, I will curiously look at this post when I am doing my review of 2012. Thanks for your support all this time and of course for reading this blog!

Leave a Reply

