The End of My London Olympics 2012 Opening Ceremony Volunteer Performer Dream

Are you going to be sad if you don’t get to perform in the Olympic ceremony?

..is the question my 12 year old tutoring student has asked me every week ever since I did my two auditions to be a performer in the London Olympic 2012 Opening and Closing ceremonies way back in February 2012.

After an agonising wait, made even more agonising by the fact that I was initially supposed to hear back about my result 3 weeks after the audition, but eventually heard back more than 11 weeks later. As the performance and rehearsals would be a serious commitment requiring me to take free time off from tutoring (most of which happens in evenings and weekends), I was anxious about this result and couldn’t commit to potential tutoring jobs. This was causing me a real nightmare in planning tutoring jobs including that all too busy Easter period. But as I never heard back, I had to plan assuming I hadn’t got the place.

But now I am really relieved and I can move forward and plan the rest of my summer.

So, how do I answer the question my student asks every week? Well, yes of course I am sad not to be in the opening ceremony. I was so enthusiastic about it and told everyone I knew that I had a shot at performing in the Olympics. And now I am a bit embarrassed to be totally honest! I haven’t told most people about it yet.

It’s not all bad news though, for starters I have actually been offered a slot in the London Paralympics 2012 Opening Ceremony instead, which is still a mighty fine thing to do. But right now in my hearts of heart I am not sure if I want to take this up given the commitment it needs and how much it will cost me in terms of lost work.

Also, my brother who applied to be in the Opening Ceremony with me actually has the place! And at least one person in our family can truly say they were in the Olympics.

I am happy with this and also now I need to find out another way of getting involved in the Olympics. I have to right? Please put down your ideas here.

4 Responses to “The End of My London Olympics 2012 Opening Ceremony Volunteer Performer Dream”


  1. 1 Carmen May 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t get picked to be a part of the opening ceremony. You have a great attitude about it though and it’s their loss really. As for getting involved, maybe look into other ways you can volunteer? The festivities and events need tons of volunteers: http://www.london2012.com/about-us/volunteers/index.html

    Or maybe look into helping out in some way with the influx of tourists that will be arriving? I hope you can find something!

    • 2 Atul Rana May 23, 2012 at 11:33 am

      Thanks Carmen for your encouraging comment as always 🙂

      Yes of course, I’d totally totally love to be involved with the Olympics as I have so much positive energy to put into it. There are plenty and plenty of things to to, especially as I live a stone’s throw from where the Olympics will be held.

      Watch this space, I’ll be back with more Olympic action.

  2. 3 Marcus Maschwitz June 2, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Sorry to hear man … I was routing for you. We can watch it on tv from a pub somewhere …

    • 4 Atul Rana June 11, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      Cheers dude! Yeah my brother is taking part in it so going to watch him with my family outdoors. Definitely lets do it together round a giant TV screen somewhere 😀


Leave a Reply

My Tweets :-)

Things I blog about


