Photos I have taken – The Giant Bird Wing

It was around 5pm on a humid Summery London day. The commuter rush was phenomenal and the streets were pouring with people in a rush, all smart office workers in a rush to get home. So many were looking at their smartphones while walking, which is a pretty good skill to have!

As I walked around between the new buildings at the Bank and Monument area, I saw a whole load of new buildings being constructed and also what seemed like nice, clean, freshly built landmarks. Every now and then I bumped into very old buildings that showed that this area was indeed as old as history suggests, i.e the very original part of London. The rest of London is an extension to the city of London area.

Wing Sculpture in central London

Giant Wing Sculpture in the Bank area of central London.

I saw this oddly placed giant bird wing sculpture, just sitting there after a crossing. I totally loved it’s style and randomness. I took this photo of it. Later I posted it on Facebook and my friends tried guessing where it was. I didn’t realise that this sculpture is brand new and there is virtually no record of it online yet. Yet, it is very real and exists in the junction between Threadneedle Street and Old Broad Street near the Bank area of central London. It is great to know that there are still some hidden and cool spots that you can just bump into by walking around, I totally love London for that!

Other photos I have taken

Two Two Subways

2 Responses to “Photos I have taken – The Giant Bird Wing”


  1. 1 Ruth Helen Kenyon July 2, 2013 at 8:45 am

    I also saw this Bird Wing when I was wandering about in the City on Saturday and couldn’t find anything out about it online. Obviously that is because it’s so new!

    • 2 Atul Rana July 2, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      When I looked it on Google streetview, all I saw was construction works. It is a pretty good secret at the moment. I’d like to see it at nighttime as well.


Leave a Reply

My Tweets :-)

Things I blog about


